Speeding Ticket Lawyer
Speeding Ticket Attorney & Traffic Ticket Lawyer In Bloomfield Township, Michigan
If you have recently received a speeding ticket in Michigan, you need the help of an attorney who will look out for your rights. Less than one percent of the drivers given speeding tickets actually try to fight the ticket.
At the our law firm we are known for our commitment to excellence in representing motorists just like you. We know the speeding laws, investigate thoroughly and fight for your need to stay behind the wheel.
If you want to fight your speeding ticket, the first step is to keep your court date. Never just pay the ticket through the mail, because in doing so, you’re admitting guilt. Instead, always go to the court date and see if you can get the ticket removed or downgraded to a less serious offense.
When you get a speeding ticket on your record, your insurance rates will likely increase. The amount of increase, however, depends on how fast you were going and other factors such as the number of years you have been driving, past driving history and more.
Our law firm’s attorneys have decades of experience defending speeding tickets just like yours. We are committed to providing the best criminal defense.
If you have been involved in a speeding ticket incident, contact our law firm to start your defense right away.
Update On New Michigan Traffic Law
New program for traffic violators gives pointers, takes away points
Basic Driver Improvement Course
A new state program that allows some Michigan drivers to avoid points for minor traffic violations by taking an online Basic Driver Improvement Course is up and running,
Under a state law that became effective Dec. 31, 2010, motorists ticketed for offenses such as speeding, improper passing or disobeying a stop sign may qualify to have points from the citation kept from going on their driving record by completing a course and paying court fines and costs. Only those who meet several restrictions will receive notification of eligibility to participate in the program from the Department of State.
The first notices to eligible drivers were mailed last month, Sec. of State Johnson said, and they have the option of taking a course online or in a classroom. There are currently 10 course providers approved by the state that offer the required defensive driving curriculum.
“This program offers a strong incentive to those who have received a traffic violation to improve their skills and become safer drivers,” Johnson said. “It gives them the pointers they need and takes away the points they don’t.”
“These drivers are still being held accountable, but in a way that safeguards against future violations,” Johnson added.
Eligible drivers have 60 days to arrange for and pass the course and may retake it as many times as necessary within that time. The provider electronically notifies the Secretary of State whether drivers pass or fail. If they ultimately do not pass, the points go on their record. If they pass, the Department of State will not add any points.
The fee for the course is determined by the provider, with the total not to exceed $100. Drivers are still responsible for paying fines and court costs involved in the traffic violation. The course may only be used once to avoid points.
A driver is not eligible if he or she:
- is in the 60-day period of course eligibility for a previous ticket.
- has already avoided points under the program.
- has a restricted, suspended or revoked license or was not issued a Michigan license.
- has three or more points on his or her record.
- held a commercial driver license or was operating a commercial vehicle at the time of the ticket.
- received a ticket that is not eligible for the program.
Call our law firm at (800) 710-0529 to see if you are eligible for this new program.