Sex Crimes Defense Attorney
Michigan’s Top Sex Crimes Defense Lawyer – Bloomfield Township & The Detroit Area
Our law firm brings more than 20 years of experience from being former prosecutors to defending hundreds of sex crime cases and the possibility of staying off the sex offender registration.
The firm has handled this unique issue of sex crime registration since it’s inception in 1994.
If you are accused of a Sex Crime, do not talk to the police without call our office first. The police are not there to protect your interests, they are not your representatives. You need a good attorney who is experienced in dealing witht he police and has dealt with these types of investigations hundreds of times. PLEASE DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND CALL OUR LAWYERS FIRST before you make any statements.
If You’ve Been Charged With Sex Crimes In Michigan Do Not Take The State Run Polygraph Without Calling Our Office First !!!
Everyone accused of a sex crime in Michigan has a right to take a polygraph test run by the police. DO NOT TAKE A POLYGRAPH WITHOUT CALLING OUR OFFICE FIRST
You have many rights that only your and your lawyers should discuss. Call us before you speak to the police about the allegations made against you. Just like they say on TV Everything you say to the police can and will be used against you in Court. Call us right now.
The Impact of Sex Offender Registration
Statutory rape and date rape
Criminal sexual conduct
Internet child pornography
Contact one of our Attorneys TODAY for the best defense of Sex Crimes charges and
STAY OFF SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY
Michigan Sex Offense Attorney – Located In Bloomfield Township, MI
The Sex Offender Registration Act (SORA) requires that those convicted of most sex offenses register as a sex offender. Even those charged with a sex crime, who are convicted of a lesser crime, can face sex offender registration at the judge’s discretion, depending on the circumstances of the case. This penalty is issued on top of fines and incarceration, and the impact is life-changing and often more damaging to people than other penalties.
Sex offender registration can last up to 25 years or even life in some circumstances. This is true even for juveniles, although their registration has remained private until they turn 18, there are NEW LAWS that have changed the registration requirements. Registration for those convicted of sex crimes is required four times a year, and failure to register is a separate felony charge that can serve to make matters even worse.
Registered sex offenders find that it is nearly impossible to find jobs at all, let alone jobs that pay well in a chosen profession. Housing also becomes an issue, as there are restrictions about where a registered sex offender can live in relation to schools and parks, which are everywhere. Even those who do find a place are often chased out of the community.
A lawyer must understand the impact of sex offender registration. It must be fought aggressively. Our law firm has the experience to fight to keep you from being convicted of a sex crime that demands registration.
Don’t End Up On Michigan’s Sex Offender Registry
Sex Crimes Defense Attorney Scott Weinberg has more than 20 years of experience handling sex crimes from both sides of the court. Since the firm was created in 1994, Michigan Criminal Lawyers, PLC has made it our priority to keep our clients off the sex offender registration and out of jail.
If you are being accused of a sex crime (statutory rape, date rape, internet child pornography, prostitution, etc.) call our office before speaking to the police. The state of Michigan still grants you many rights, and only a practiced attorney can ensure each of those rights is being protected.
What Determines If A Sex Crime Will Be Charged At A Felony Level Versus Misdemeanor In Michigan?
In Michigan, there are many different types of sex crimes, which we organize into four different degrees of criminal sexual conduct (CSC): 1st Degree, 2nd Degree, 3rd Degree, and 4th Degree. Technically, they are all felonies, though 4th Degree is listed as a low felony or high court misdemeanor, punishable by up to 2 years in prison. Each degree can be registerable, meaning you have to register as a sex offender depending on what state you’re in. In Michigan, the registration requirement can last for 25 years or life based on the CSC degree that you’re convicted of. Read More
Contact one of our Attorneys and we’ll be more than happy to assist you with any questions or concerns