Do you have Questions regarding the new Driver Responsibility laws and the fees you have to pay? Here are your answers:
Common Questions about the 2014 Changes to the Driver Responsibility Fee Law:
What do I need to know about the Driver Responsibility Fee Law?
The Driver Responsibility Fee (DRF) law has been amended by Public Act 283 of 2014 to allow you to perform
community service in place of paying certain Driver Responsibility fees. Beginning Jan. 1, 2015, you can
complete 10 hours of community service for each qualifying violation. If you were ticketed for No Proof of
Insurance, No Insurance, Driving without a Proper License/Endorsement/Vehicle Group Designator, Driving
while License Expired, or Driving while Unlicensed or License Not Valid between October 1, 2003 and Oct. 1,
2012, you may qualify for this new program. The Michigan Department of Treasury will begin accepting
applications for community service in January.
Can I make arrangements to do community service as an alternative to paying my DRF?
It depends on what types of violations are on your driving record; not all DRF offenses will qualify for the
community service program. If you are eligible for the program, you will be contacted through the mail by
Treasury beginning in December 2014.
Which DRF offenses qualify to be waived by completing community service?
Community service can be accepted instead of payment for the following offenses:
No Proof of Insurance
Drove without Proper License/Endorsement/Vehicle Group Designator
Drove While License Expired
Drove While Unlicensed or License Not Valid
How will I be notified if I am eligible to do community service as an alternative to paying
If you are eligible, you will be mailed one written notification to the address Treasury has on file for you.
How long do I have to complete my community service?
You will be given 45 days to complete your 10 hours of community service. If you have more than one
qualifying offense on your driving record, you can decide to do your 10 hours of community service in blocks
of 45 days each or group them all into one 45-day period. Any community service application forms submitted
after December 31, 2015 will not be counted.
More questions regarding the new laws, read http://www.MichiganDrivers.com/?p=639
If you have questions please call Attorney Scott Weinberg at 800-710-0529